February 5 – Bringing back summer

Today I took my inspiration from Candis at Musings around – by layering a skirt over a very thin summer dress. Candis is such a pro at remixing!

I love this dress, even though it’s a little bit too big on top. The color is something between yellow and green (that strange color that you for some strange reason always can find in a box of crayons…) and I usually don’t wear it but I got this dress from my parents a few years ago. They found it at their favourite outlet in Italy – the Armani outlet. They bought it for me one summer when me and Boyfriend was visiting France for a wedding.

I have never tried wearing it as a blouse before but I have to say – I’m pretty satisfied with the outcome! As a dress it pretty much only works for summer with high heels and a very ”put together” look.

The original dress on its own…

Dress + skirt + belt (turned inside out since the outside color is a light blue).
Since the dress is longer than the skirt I had to pull it up over the waistband of the skirt. But I thought it made it look even more like a blouse.


But as you can see it doesn’t look that good from behind… SO, a cardigan or jacket of some sorts felt needed to make this work.

Cardigan number one – purple from Dea Kudibal, a danish brand.

A white short cardigan (the one I ended up wearing) from Kappahl.

And last, but not least – I tried paring it with a short jacket/bolero I bought a week ago, but that I’m thinking of returning….

I loved, and still do, the look of it but it has it’s problems
a) it’s in a strange almost plastic fabric, like fake leather.
b) you have to dry clean it (on the tag it says: wipe it off with cloth)
c) and that was something I didn’t think would be a problem until I wore it a little bit around the house and I’m fearing this fabric will make me sweat a bit
d) and the thing that’s really bugging me – one button is missing but the store had some policy that they wouldn’t knock anything off the price – I don’t really care about the money but I felt a bit cheated when I left the store, like I’d been tricked or something…

What do you think? Should I return it or not?

1 kommentar

Under Color love, Looks

Ett svar till “February 5 – Bringing back summer

  1. Thanks for your incredibly sweet comment!

    I’m loving the way that dress works as a skirt, it’s always a great feeling when you discover a new way to wear something!
    And I’m voting return the jacket. The style is super cute, but the fabric sounds like it will be such a pain.

Lämna en kommentar